Just a Few Evening Notes. . .

100_7466

This day is winding down to eveningtime. My chicken is cooked and waiting in the crockpot for me to mix up the sauce and “smother” it. A salad is chilling in the refrigerator, as is a large bowl of orange Jell-O. This was supposed to have been the meal for yesterday, but a few unexpected errands turned dinner into tacos instead, so the chicken was moved to tonight. I love using my crockpot, because I feel so ahead of the game all day – it’s nice to smell dinner cooking while I go about the rest of the day.

100_7485

Today we finally got around to one of our long overdue school projects. We have been reading “A New Coat for Anna” for going on the third week now, and have not had time to get to the projects that I had planned. Normally I might have just decided to move on, but I’ve been so looking forward to doing these activities, that I just kept moving them back a week. Today’s project was weaving placemats from construction paper, while discussing the weaving of fabric on a loom. Here we are at it –

100_7461

And our results –

100_7462

We discussed loving our enemies in our Bible lesson today, and agreed that it was something that we all need to be reminded of often –

” ‘You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.

For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? If you greet only your brothers, what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same?’ ”

Matthew 5: 43-48

I hung a new bird feeder right outside (on!) the kitchen window – it will give us a good, up-close look at our feathered visitors. I then proceeded to fill all of the feeders except the new one! One bag of seed is just the right size to fill the existing three feeders, so I don’t have any left over. I guess we will have to wait until I get to the store to pick up some more to enjoy the new one!

100_7482

The children did their chores early so that they could watch the new High School Musical dvd, which is what they are doing right now ( and yes, I even took a picture of the screen) –

100_7488

They will be heading out to basketball practice (the last one) right after dinner. And speaking of dinner, I better head to the kitchen and get that sauce made, so we can eat before they have to leave.

I hope to be back soon with those pictures from our antique shopping this weekend, including the new hutch.

Have a wonderful, warm and relaxing evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Thank you so much for buying High School Musical 3 Mom!
    And for The yummy Meal!
    I can’t wait till we can go see a movie all together again!
    Love, Sarah

Leave a Reply

