The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ March 9

Outside my window. . .me! I am sitting on the front porch writing this. The skies are overcast, the air is humid with a gentle breeze. A small bird just flew into an old nest from last year that is perched on top of a ceiling fan close above me. He (or probably she) just looked at me for a few moments and then flew off. I hope this means that there will be a new family living there soon!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about how beautiful the spring flowering trees are, and how quickly they stop flowering and turn green – I feel like I just can’t look at them enough before the pinks and whites are gone for another year.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we will be reading the book “When I Was Young in the Mountains” by Cynthia Rylant this week. We will be discussing coal mining, contentment, lifestyle in days gone by, and baptism. This book ties in so well with our nightly Little House episodes, that it will continue our discussions on daily life in the past.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Matthew fixing my computer, which decided to take a dive last week.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Tater Tot Casserole, Salad and Brownies.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .blue t-shirt and blue jeans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .I finished my April block in my Be-Attitudes quilt, except for a few embroidery stitches. I will be working on a few birthday cards this week, as well.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to have to remember to plant some Daffodil bulbs next fall, as none of mine came up this year after being faithful for the last 3 years. I really missed them this year!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“The Creative Family” by Amanda Blake Soule.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that Jeff’s ankle will start to feel better soon. We think he sprained it, and he spent most of the weekend laying down. It was starting to feel better, when he turned it again in a hole in the backyard (he couldn’t stand to stay down, and went out to work on the pool), which put him right back where he started.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .since all of the children just went back into the house, I am surrounded by the peaceful sounds of the outdoors – birds singing, the wind blowing, the windchime clinking . . . oops . . . here they come again – it was peaceful for the moment.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .loads and loads of laundry to do, some new spring flowers on my kitchen windowsill, still a few traces of confetti from Tommy’s birthday, and lots of posts lining up waiting to be written about our recent adventures.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .sitting on my front porch enjoying the birds and the trees. (as if you didn’t already know that.)
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .housework, quilting, card-making, schooling, a trip to the American Girl store this weekend with Sarah and Anna for lunch and shopping (Sarah’s birthday outing), and a family birthday party for the March birthdays – Tommy, Sarah, and Uncle Chris at my sister’s home.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_7674
My neighbor’s tree in full bloom. I took this picture about a week ago – it has since gone from white to green.

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Hi there! I finally posted a new post today. It’s been so crazy here, but all good for now. I was looking for some music today because I’m playing for some vocalists on a recital at UTA on Wednesday, and would you believe I found some of the pieces I played with you! I have all the copies of accompaniment parts still in my spiral notebooks, just in case I ever need them. They have come in handy a few times. Just wanted you to know I thought of you today!
    Love,
    Kathy

  2. I love that you get to blog on your porch! I am hoping to inherit my daughter’s laptop when she buys a new one soon. Then I can enjoy the spring weather while typing my posts, too! I like your blog… especially the nature photos.
    Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

