The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ March 30

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .new leaves are popping out on many of the trees, my irises are blooming, and a mama bird is sitting on her nest on my front porch.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .how nice it would be to spend the week on the porch – it rained so much last week that I didn’t get any porch time and I missed it!
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .our spring nature study will focus on eggs and nests this week. We have some great living examples at work on the back patio, as our yearly barn swallows are building their yearly nest, and as we watch the mama bird on the front porch, who is ahead of the game since she moved into a nest that was left over from last year.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .these words from Scripture ~ “For behold, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone. The flowers have already appeared in the land; the time has arrived for pruning the vines, and the voice of the turtledove has been heard in the land.” ~ Song of Solomon 2:11-12
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .I will be boiling two chickens today, freezing some of the meat for future casseroles, and then using the rest to make Chicken Spaghetti for dinner, with homemade bread.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .pink polo shirt and jeans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .working on the July block of my quilt ~ “Be Honest”.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be visiting Home Depot for seeds, plants, and flowers to plant this weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .gardening books and the next chapter of my Bible Study book for class this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get the garden planted next weekend – much to do to prepare this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .the wind blowing outside, children laughing, “I Love Lucy” on the tv.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .balloons laying around the floor – left over from Sarah’s birthday celebration on Saturday, still all of the craft supplies out on the table from last week’s journal-making spree, a clean floor under our couches – as Jeff got brave over the weekend and decided to clean out all of the “debris” that had made its way under there (toys, popcorn, more toys, more popcorn. . .)
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .picking out seeds for a new spring garden – so much promise!
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .shopping, Ladies Bible Study, celebrating David’s 3rd birthday, preparing the garden to plant, and maybe some of that porch time somewhere in there.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_8059
my new Spring candle on my kitchen island ~ it smells so wonderful!

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. i just love picking out new seeds. they hold such promise (and hope that the rabbits won’t eat them) :).

    that candle scent sounds so yummy i can almost smell it through the computer screen.

  2. Loved your scripture thought! I hope you get to catch up on your “porch time” and enjoy spring. The picture of your candle looks very inviting.

Leave a Reply

