Our Nesting Mama

100_8073

She moved into this nest from last year on top of one of the ceiling fans on the front porch. She sits up there even with children running back and forth to me while I sit in the rocker. Every now and then she will get startled and fly away, but then she gets back as soon as she feels it is safe again.

I still have not identified her. She has a white throat and belly, and is dark grey all over the top. It looks like she has a notched tail. I’m thinking that she may be a swallow of some kind or maybe a swift, but can’t seem to find her in my bird book. Any ideas?

She is fun to watch – I feel a sort of kinship when we are both sitting there together, watching over our little ones. 🙂

Have a nice day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Could she be a barn swallow?

  2. Well, she looks different from the barn swallows that we have on the back porch, and she is definitely nesting by herself. Our barn swallows nest together as well as feeding and tending the babies together.

    I’ve only checked one book, so I probably need to check a few more.

Leave a Reply

