The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ April 6

Good afternoon! Can you believe it is April already? Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .Spring is in full bloom around our home, with flowers, birds, trees and plants all celebrating in their own unique ways. Old Man Winter is having a hard time letting go, as he keeps trying to overstay his welcome periodically with a cold day or night – such as tonight, when a freeze is expected! This may not sound strange to those of you up north, but we’ve been averaging days in the 70’s and nights in the 50’s, so it’s unwelcome to us! Thankfully, it will only be for one night, and then things will start warming up again.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about the garden layout – tweaking the plan in preparation for planting. We didn’t get it planted this past weekend, but are progressing toward that point, and will be planted in the next few days.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .our focus is on Easter this week, with stories and discussions centered around Christ’s final moments leading up to the cross and His glorious resurrection.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the precious gift of life that was purchased for us by Christ on the cross.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Creamed eggs for dinner tonight. We are overstocked with farm fresh eggs from our friends at church, so we need to use some up, before we get inundated with another big dose next weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .purple polo and blue jeans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .still working on my July quilt block – I may not get much done on it this week, though.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to start the laundry in just a minute – really I am.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Benjamin’s Box” by Melody Carlson with the children all week as we open Resurrection Eggs to retell the story of Easter.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that it doesn’t rain on Easter, presenting a challenge to our annual egg hunts in the yard.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .David asking me a question, Sarah singing to her kitty, me blowing my nose (I’ve been hit with a miserable cold ever since last week), Tommy talking to me about Legos, a dog sneezing, Matthew yawning, birds singing outside the open window – yes, all of these at the same time – par for the course.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .Easter baskets just down from the attic sitting all over the piano, Easter grass starting to be found all over the floor, piles of jackets all over the table needing to be hung up, and plenty of laundry waiting to be washed, as well as sheets to be changed.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .dying Easter eggs ~ the joy of changing plain white eggs into a rainbow of lovely spring colors!
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .focusing on Easter and all that it means for us, baking Resurrection biscuits with the children, shopping for spring shoes for most of the family, planting the garden, cleaning the house in preparation for having the family over on Easter.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

100_8493

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook, and have a wonderful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Beautiful photo…Enjoyed reading you entry.

  2. Have you ever hid the Easter eggs the night before only to wake up to snow?! LOL! That was an interesting hunt that year…we were finding eggs weeks afterwards.

  3. How fun! I don’t think I can remember ever having snow on Easter in my life, but we’ve endured many wet, rainy Easter Egg Hunts!

Leave a Reply

