Smothered Chicken

100_82741

Another well loved recipe from my childhood – one that I requested on my birthday a number of times – is this recipe for Smothered Chicken. I will say that I have tweaked it a bit from the original recipe. Growing up I used to wish that there was more sauce, as this is the tastiest part, so I now double or sometimes triple the sauce required in the original recipe. Another change has been that I now cook this recipe in the Crockpot (my mother always cooked it on the stove). I credit this idea to my sister-in-law, who first started slow-cooking it, and suggested it to me. I love cooking it in my Crockpot! I can put it all together in the morning, and by the time we eat it, the chicken is so tender it is falling apart. Yummy!

So, without further ado, here is the recipe and a few pictures to go along ~

Ingredients:
8 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
2-3 Cups flour
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 Cup shortening (divided for frying)
2 envelopes Lipton Noodle (or Chicken Noodle) Soup mix
2 onions, sliced
1/2 cup water
2 Cups evaporated milk
1 teaspoon poultry seasoning
2 teaspoons parsley flakes

Wash chicken. Mix flour, salt, and paprika –

100_8251

Coat chicken with flour mixture and fry in shortening until golden –

100_8249

Place half of the chicken in Crockpot with a little bit of water –

100_8255

Sprinkle one envelope dry Lipton Noodle soup over chicken –

100_8257

Slice onions thinly –

100_8259

Place half of the onion silices in the Crockpot and add a little water –

100_8261

Repeat again with another layer of chicken, soup mix, onion slices, and water. The pot is nice and full now –

100_8267

Cook on high for a couple of hours, and then turn to low, cooking for another 4-5 hours, until tender –

100_8268

While you wait, find something fun to do with your children . . . or I guess you could clean your house . . .
or maybe you could have a staring contest with your cat –

100_8248

When the chicken is done, remove it to a 9 x 13 baking dish. Leave some of the gooey stuff in the Crockpot –

100_8271

To the Crockpot, add the evaporated milk, poultry seasoning, and parsley flakes and mix well. Heat, stirring occasionally, until it is warmed through. Add salt to taste to the sauce –

100_8273

Pour sauce over the chicken in dish and serve –

100_82742

This dish elicits smiles all around every time I cook it. See? –

100_7817

100_8294
Of course, it could be the new Barbie that elicited this smile, but I was there, and I know that the chicken was just as exciting to her.

It’s even good enough to bring your 20 year old son, who is out of the house, back home again for an evening (he really came for Sarah’s birthday, but I’m sure a home-cooked meal was considered a bonus) –

100_8290

And when it’s been awhile since I’ve made this, I will usually get a few puppy-eyed requests – “Pleeeez, can we have Smothered Chicken???” –

100_7839

Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. That looks yummy. 🙂 I love how you posted this too it was so entertaining to read.

  2. LOL! A staring contest with your cat. Too funny.

    Recipe looks great. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

