Baby Bunnies!

100_8566

I was raking in the garden last week preparing a plot for corn seeds, when I raked up this nest of bunnies. I actually pulled one out of the nest – which scared me to death, thinking that it was RATS I had unearthed! But when I had collected myself and looked closely, I noticed the distinct bunny ears and the frightening creatures instantly turned into adorable babies (in my mind, anyway). I gently scooped the little stray one up with my shovel and placed it back into the nest.

100_8570

I called the children – the ones who hadn’t heard my initial terrified shrieks – and we all oooed and ahhhed over them for awhile. By this time the little one had snuggled back in with his siblings and I covered them back up with the fluff that I had raked off.

100_8567

We’ve been checking on them daily, and there appears to be no damage done from my unwelcome invasion. They must be pretty hardy, seeing as how they survived my intrusion and then a few nights later made it through a hailstorm. We haven’t seen the mother yet, but my sister thinks that she probably comes at night to feed them.

I moved my corn plot to the other end of the garden and won’t need this plot for about another month or so (we are planting the corn in stages), so hopefully the bunnies will be grown and out of the garden by then – of course, they will probably be back to visit and nibble a bit!)

For now, we are loving watching them, and they will go along with our Peter Rabbit unit study perfectly! I love it when the Lord blesses our studies with living examples!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Awwwww…baby bunnies! Very cute! And you’re making a salad bar for them when they get older. 🙂

Leave a Reply

