Berry Plants

100_8972

Most summers growing up our family would venture to North Carolina on vacation to visit our extended family. We always stayed at my grandparents house, unless we all rented a cottage at the beach (that would be a whole other post!).

Summer vacation at Grandmama and Grandaddy’s house always included lots of playing with cousins, visiting with Aunts and Uncles, playing Roll-A-Bat in the large yard, digging in the sandbox, climbing the dogwood tree, or planning and putting on shows and “spook” houses.

Meals were always full of home-grown vegetables out of my grandfather’s huge garden, prepared lovingly by the womenfolk in the kitchen. Sometimes we would make homemade ice cream (hand-cranked) or consume huge wedges of watermelon at the picnic table in the backyard. One thing that we could always count on during our visit was Grandmama’s Dewberry Cobbler, made from fresh Dewberries, picked by my grandfather out in the garden. The berries were so delicious and it became a dish that we looked forward to every visit.

I have always dreamed of growing berries on my own land and making my own cobblers just like my grandmother did. We tried blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries last year. We lost all but two raspberry plants and all but one blueberry plant (and it is hanging on by a thread!). The blackberries survived, but just need to grow bigger in order to start supplying more berries. Here is one of our seven blackberry plants –

100_8971

Imagine my excitement when Jeff called me one afternoon with the news that he had run across actual Dewberry plants at Home Depot and was buying six of them to plant around our pool fence. They were nice big plants that were already flowering and growing berries. I never expected to find Dewberries in Texas – assuming they were native to the East Coast. Since then, he has planted them along the fence – three on one side and three on another with the blackberries in between. Here they are still gathered around a stake – we will be untying them and attaching them to the fence soon, so that they can get better air circulation.

100_8952

100_8954

We are hoping that they will establish themselves and that soon we will be enjoying Grandmama’s Dewberry Cobbler once again. Somewhere I have her recipe, if you could call it a recipe. One summer I interviewed her as she was putting it together – ” about this much flour and that much sugar . . .”

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Hi Nancy!
    My dad talks about dewberries they had in Arkansas, so I guess they are good in our part of the country too. I know his mom grew them in her little garden.
    BTW, I bought a couple of the gardening books you suggested…just waiting for school to be over after May 8 to get to work. I should be able to get something in the ground that can be picked in the fall this year.
    Love,
    K

  2. The dewberry plants already have lots of berries on them. So glad Jeff found them. Your description of the visits to N.C. gave me a bad case of nostalgia. Such happy memories!
    Love, Mom

  3. DUDE change my address/name on your blogroll! I thought you had already… I’m down to like 1 view a day… sad… Oh, you should definately write a post advertising my blog, Miss 100-views-a-day =P

  4. FYI – new pictures on my blog today!
    K

Leave a Reply

