Homemade Mashed Potatoes

100_9322

This one falls under that category of dishes that probably everyone in the world has made, but I never have – at least up until now. Monday night I made my first ever batch of homemade mashed potatoes.

I found my recipe here, in one of my very favorite scratch cookbooks ~

100_9361

I liked this recipe because it was simple, using only basic ingredients that I normally keep on hand. The recipe below makes 4 servings – I doubled it plus a little, using a 5 lb. bag of potatoes. Here is the original recipe with a few pictures to follow ~

Homemade Mashed Potatoes

2 pounds all-purpose potatoes (about 5 medium)
1 Tablespoon salt
1/3 cup milk
3 Tablespoons butter, softened
Salt and Pepper to taste

Pour 3 quarts of water into a large pot, add the salt, and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile, scrub the potatoes well under running water with a vegetable brush. Remove the skins with a vegetable peeler. If potatoes are very large, cut them into uniform-sized pieces (halves or quarters) so they cook at the same pace. Drop them in the pot, lower heat to moderate, and, depending on size, boil for about 20-30 minutes, or until a potato feels tender when pierced with a fork or cake tester.

Heat the milk slowly on the stove in a saucepan over low heat, or heat it in the microwave in a glass measuring cup tightly covered, for 45 seconds on High.

Warm the mixing bowl by filling it with hot water, then drain and dry it.

Drain the potatoes through a colander in the sink. Cut them into quarters with a small knife and put them in the heated mixing bowl. Mash them with a potato masher, working out as many of the lumps as you can. With a wooden spoon, beat in the softened butter, a tablespoon at a time, then slowly pour in the hot milk, still beating with the spoon. If you want fluffier potatoes, whip them with a whisk or electic mixer.

Taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper if needed. Pile in a heated serving dish and serve at once.

I just love this cookbook because it tells me EVERYTHING, not assuming that I already know some things – which has been a great help to me in learning to cook from scratch. Here are a few pictures I took along the way ~

Freshly scrubbed potatoes ~

100_9313

Boiling in the pot ~

100_9316

Ready for mashing ~

100_9318

Mostly mashed ~

100_9319

Stirring in butter and milk ~

100_9320

Ready to eat – I added a few extra dollops of butter on top – just because ~

100_9324

I will definitely be making these again – they got rave reviews from the family!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Wow, I love this technique coz I used to mash the cooked potatoes on a pan together with milk and butter. Thanks for sharing this. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

