Chicken Stuffing Casserole ~ #1 of 3

100_9752

Over the years I have managed to acquire three different recipes for Chicken Stuffing Casserole, all of which are delicious and are used on a regular basis in our house. They are somewhat similar to each other, but yet, are each unique also.

Today I will be sharing a recipe that I call “Sharon’s Chicken Stuffing” due to the fact that I got this recipe from my friend Sharon some years ago. I believe that she cooked it for me when Tommy or Sarah was born (I don’t know which – they were born a year apart, and the times blur in my mind!). I enjoyed it so much that I asked her for the recipe and have been cooking it for my family ever since. I almost always serve this one with a side dish of orange Jell-O, because Sharon did, and I think the flavors go well together. Of course, the Jell-O can be replaced with many different sides of your own choosing!

Here you go –

Ingredients

6-8 boneless skinless chicken breasts
6-8 slices Swiss cheese
3-4 cans Cream of Chicken soup
Stove Top Stufffing – Chicken flavor (I used two boxes for a 9 x 13 pan)

100_9733

Wash chicken breasts and lay in bottom of 9 x 13 baking dish –

100_9732

Lay Swiss cheese slices on top of chicken –

100_9734

Spread soup evenly on top of cheese –

100_9735

Prepare stuffing as directed on the box and spread on top of casserole –

100_9736

Leave a little stuffing in the pan, so you and your three year old can have a little appetizer –

100_9738

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 – 2 hours –

100_9751

Go outside and play with the kids while it’s baking, or just sit on the porch while they play, or maybe take a few nature photos – that’s what I did. I know that’s what I did because I found these two pictures right smack in the middle of my recipe shots on my camera –

100_9746

This one’s a little blurry – okay a lot blurry -but still beautiful, don’t you think? Just keeping it real, folks –

100_9748

Finally, back in the kitchen, a delicious dinner awaits –

100_9752

I will share my other two Chicken Stuffing recipes when I get around to preparing them next, so that you can try them all, or pick out your favorite and go with that. I’ll try to include them in the menu plan soon, but don’t want to overdose my family on Chicken Stuffing dishes, so please understand if I space them out a bit!

Tonight I will be making Tater Tot Casserole for dinner, but the exciting part is that I will be cooking our first homegrown green beans of the season to go along with it! I was so surprised when I checked on the garden yesterday and discovered green beans galore, so I’ll be out picking them this morning, snapping them this afternoon, and serving them this evening! Aren’t gardens wonderful?

Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. What is your camp?

  2. I hope to post about it soon with details about my plans, but basically we transform our home into a summer camp – complete with cabins (rooms that we name Indian names), mess hall, crafts, stories, Bible memory, swimming, games, camp foods, cookouts and S’mores. We will end the week camping out in the yard. I serve all of the meals on camp trays, and we even make special camp t-shirts to wear all week.

    Look for more details to follow!

Leave a Reply

