Chicken Pasta Salad with Grapes & Poppy Seed Dressing

100_9854

I found this recipe on the Betty Crocker website a little while back and tried it a few weeks ago. It was delicious and a wonderful summer meal. The recipe calls for using the boxed pasta Suddenly Salad. I knew that I was going to double the recipe, so I opted for just using bagged spiral pasta instead. I will give you the recipe the way that I cooked it and in the amounts that I used. If you want to see the original recipe, click here.

Ingredients
Pasta (spiral or your choice)
2-3 cups cooked chicken
1 1/2 cups halved red grapes
1/2-1 cup thinly sliced celery
1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted
1 bottle refrigerated poppy seed dressing

Cook pasta –

100_9821

I used two boxes of Rotini –

100_9820

Drain pasta, rinse well with cold water. Shake to drain well –

100_9827

Chop up chicken and vegetables. Grapes –

100_9818

100_9822

Celery –

100_9828

100_9829

Chicken – I used two packages of this chicken that came already grilled, I just had to chop it up –

100_9831

100_9834

Toast the almonds by sprinkling them in an ungreased heavy skillet. Cook over medium heat for 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently until the almonds begin to brown, and then stirring constantly until light brown –

100_9817

Now everything’s ready to be mixed together –

100_9835

Mix all of the ingredients except dressing in a large bowl –

100_9844

Add the dressing. I used this one –

100_9848

100_9849

Mix well. Serve immediately or refrigerate –

100_9852

This salad would be perfect for a luncheon or as a light, cool dinner on a hot summer evening. I loved the flavor of the toasted almonds in the salad! Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Mmm that looks good. And I could even make it myself I bet! lol minus the almonds of course 😉

  2. Be sure and let me know if you do make it – I’ll record it in your Baby Book! “Ryan’s first cooking” – just kidding! I know you’ve cooked macaroni before so I bet you could handle this one – and without your free chicken meals each day now, you’re probably needing to cook more.

  3. What a clear, frank, and wonderful example of creating a recipe for a Mr. Mom! I’m grateful for the pictures and especially the product/brands you used. I hope you continue to do this and I will look for more of your recipes. I have 3 daughters; 2, 4, & 6. The 4 year old does not like pasta but I left some aside as a salad. All the rest of the girls int heohouse; my wife, loved it as well. I make meals every night, so I’m always looking for some changes. I make Indian, Greek and Mexican once a week and rely on my culinary experience from my past years as a teenager and college student in the restaurant business to create and combine spices and ingredients.
    All my best!
    Josh-U

Leave a Reply

