Chicken Stuffing Casserole #2 of 3

101_0233

Here is the 2nd installment in the Chicken Stuffing Casserole series ~ the first can be found here. Around my kitchen this second recipe is referred to as “Jeina’s Chicken Stuffing Casserole”, due to the fact that I received the recipe from my sister-in-law Jeina. I have had this recipe the longest of the three and have made it so many times that I can do it by memory – which is good because I seem to have misplaced the actual recipe card. I have made this for my family many times, but have also made it many times to take to families with new babies, etc. It is simple to make and satifying to eat. Here we go ~

Ingredients

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and cut up into small chunks
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup
1 can Cream of Chicken soup
1 soup can milk
4 oz. sour cream (1/2 of a small tub)
pepper to taste
1 stick butter, melted
1 small package Pepperidge Farm Stuffing

Cook chicken breasts (I boil mine) and cut up into small chunks. I double this recipe for my family so this picture shows twice the amount of chicken you will need –

101_0210

Mix together soups, milk, sour cream, chicken and pepper until well blended –

101_0215

101_0216

Melt butter in microwave –

101_0211

Stir butter together with stuffing until moistened. I usually use the Herb Seasoned stuffing, but had the Cornbread stuffing on hand, so I tried it and it was really good, as well –

101_0212

101_0213

Place half of the stuffing mixture in the bottom of a 9 x 13 casserole dish –

101_0214

Pour chicken mixture over the stuffing in the dish –

101_0217

Top with remaining stuffing mixture –

101_0218

Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes –

101_0219

Uncover and bake 10 more minutes or until golden and bubbly –

101_0225

I served this with green beans and Hawaiian rolls, yummy! –

101_0231

And chocolate cake for dessert, double yummy! –

101_0224

Enjoy!

I will post my third and final Chicken Stuffing Casserole recipe when I get around to making it again.

Blessings,
Nancy

8 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Mom!!! See you tonight 🙂

    P.S. This is definitely the best chicken stuffing of them all (and that cake doesn’t look too bad either mmmmm….)

  2. DANG! I missed dinner! Any leftovers?

  3. Never any leftovers much around here! If there are any, we eat them for lunch usually the next day – especially this one. I had to get another post up because I kept seeing this casserole staring me in the face every time I logged on – it made my mouth water every time! I think I’ll probably be making it again soon!

  4. I loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Hi Tracie ~

    I’m so glad that you liked it. I just cooked my 3rd Chicken Stuffing recipe tonight (3 of 3), so I will be posting it as soon as I can get to it.
    Thanks for visiting!

  6. I’m so happy I found your recipe!!! I have an old recipe card from my ‘Mother that has a chicken casserole recipe on it. The recipe has been one of our family favorites for years. For some reason when I fix it, it’s not quite right so I Googled and found your’s (recipe #2) and it’s the only one I found even close to the recipe I have. Instead of mushroom, she used cream of celery and didn’t use sour cream. I’m fixing 3 – 9″ x 13″ pans of this using turkey meat to serve our outreach kids tomorrow night for thanksgiving and going to use your recipe. Thank you and your family. I pray you have a bountiful Thanksgiving and may God bless you all!!!

  7. Hi Cindy ~

    I’m sorry to be so late replying to you! I’m so glad that this recipe was what you were looking for and hope your outreach kids enjoyed it!

    Blessings,
    Nancy

  8. So good to hear from you! I am pleased to tell you that the Thanksgiving dinner for the outreach kids was a success! The funny thing was the adults were saying that the kids wouldn’t eat “Thanksgiving food” – that I should fix something kids like (pizza, hot dogs, etc.) I went with my “instincts” and the children loved the turkey/stuffing casserole. There was not a drop left. Some of the children came back 3 and 4 times for more! Many of the adults wanted the recipe. Thank you for sharing your recipes! God bless you in all of your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

