Updates

lazydaysgirl

Just wanted to share a few updates from around our house.

cabin1treesm

I have officially decided to cancel summer camp plans for this summer. I have postponed it a number of times already and the next possible date to have it would be into late August. I will be well into thinking about back to school by then (already am!) and the time for summer camp seems to have come and gone. I am packing up my notes and supplies so that I’ll have them ready to go again next summer – hopefully in June, which is when I get most excited about camp plans. Having just come off a week of VBS with a camping/hiking theme kind of filled our camp tank anyway, so we’re not too sad about canceling it.

whimsypine

I have a new camera. It came about that I needed a new camera one day when my old one was returned to me with the words . . . “I don’t know what happened, but the screen isn’t working quite right.” Upon further investigation, “not working quite right” meant that there was a big slash across the screen and everything in the background was black . . . obviously it had been dropped. Now, I won’t mention the name of the culprit, but maybe you can guess from these pictures (taken previously on the old camera) –

101_0301

101_0306

How’s this for evidence? (especially since these were the last pictures I found taken on said camera) –

101_0294

And finally, we have a picture of the lovely lady herself – now how can I get upset at a beautiful smile like that?

101_0291

So, about a week later, my knight in shining armor came home with a new camera for me. It has been an adjustment as this camera is different from the old one and I wasn’t sure for awhile that it was going to be allowed to live here – I’m still not totally sure, but we’re getting along a little bit better. I think that it’s true that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks – or at least the old dog doesn’t like to learn them, but I’m not calling myself an old dog, you understand.

I haven’t actually uploaded any pictures off of the new camera to my computer, so you haven’t gotten to see them yet. It’s because I don’t know how to do it – more new tricks to learn and I haven’t had the courage to try haven’t had time to read the manual and decipher how to do it. I must force myself to do so soon, because I’m running out of old stock to include with my posts.

I was going to update you on the gardens, but I think I’ll save that for it’s own post (maybe with pictures?).

school69

I’ve been spending much time pouring over my notes and websites making a plan for our new school year. I have been drawn for many years now to the teachings and educational philosophy of Charlotte Mason, and have implemented many of her ideas for different subjects into our homeschool over the past 5 years or so, but am feeling the Lord leading me to include even more of this gentle approach to schooling into our days. I will hopefully post more about this in the near future, as I think that I’m closing in on my final plans for the year. Can you please pray for clear thinking for me and the Lord’s will to be clear to me in this area? He is the center of our homeschool and I only want to go where He is leading us.

Well, I think that’s enough for now! I am being called to the kitchen – to make cookies and to carve an apple doll for Anna. We read “The Apple Doll” by Elisa Kleven last night before bed and she asked if we could make an apple doll today – we will carve the face and let it dry for about a week. Guess I better take my camera to the kitchen with me.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

