The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ September 21

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .a freshly mown lawn, squirrels scampering about starting their fall business, Jack enjoying the nice weather.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about this busy week!
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .Studies about the Moon, Christopher Columbus, Autumn poetry, beginning a music study of Bach, lots of reading, and working on our Book of the Centuries to name a few morsels of our week ahead.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the comforts of home.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .dinner will be Baked Spaghetti (I hope to post the recipe this week), Salad, and Sourdough Rolls.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .navy shirt and denim shorts.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .an ABC book with Anna, and a Color book with David. We work on them every Friday – cutting out pictures from magazines and glueing them on the letter or color page of the week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be neck deep in laundry today, like Caroline Ingalls always said ~ “Wash on Monday.”
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .too many to record – all with the children – no time for anything else!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to make an Apple Crisp for dinner tomorrow night for the first official day of Autumn.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna singing, David brushing his teeth, Missy (kitty) licking the chair – don’t ask me why!
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .lots of dishes, lots of laundry, a messy house left over from a busy weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .evenings at home ~ just family time.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .putting things in order, orthodontist, ice skating, preparing for and attending a wedding, and celebrating the beginning of Fall!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

035
I bought this dish years ago to display in my home. It is reminiscent of the one that Laura Ingalls Wilder had in her home. I have always loved it!
~~~~~~~~~~

To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook,
and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

5 Responses

  1. What a great picture! Thanks for sharing your daybook!

  2. I love Laura Ingalls Wilder and her stories. Apple Crisp is a perfect way to welcome fall! I enjoyed your Daybook

  3. I smiled when I read your ‘around the house’- all the messy Monday things from the weekend used to bug me years ago. Now I can honestly smile at the fact that it meant we had a busy fun weekend as a family- except for the laundry. The laundry is the bane of my existence. The combination of boys and mud can sometimes make me cry! *grins* (Probably makes my poor hardworking washer moan a bit too.)

    I love that dish!

  4. I love that plate also. It sounds like you are making a lovely home for your family. I hope you have a great week. Doylene

  5. I’m a Laura Ingalls Wilder fan, too! How cool that you found a dish like hers!

    Apple Crisp sounds like a lovely way to usher in Fall.

Leave a Reply

