The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ October 5

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .a gray, cloudy day (and week), leaves turning yellow and falling, a beautiful new pumpkin-colored Chrysanthemum on my front porch.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about ways to balance our schooling with the rest of our life.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we are beginning a two week study of leaves and trees for the youngers. In History we will all be in Jamestown with Pocahontas. Other topics for the week are the Sun (older kids this time), Bach, Monet, Nature stories, Little House, and our missionary study of Ida Scudder. And of course there’s always the basics of reading, writing and math, too!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .a new week of lessons, life, and love.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .well . . . dinner was going to be Smothered Chicken in the crockpot – I went to the store on Saturday and forgot to buy the chicken . . . went back on Sunday, and forgot that I didn’t have enough onions . . . so, I will be heading to the store again today for onions, but it will be too late to start the crockpot. Smothered Chicken has officially been moved to tomorrow night. Tonight we will have Stouffer’s Macaroni and Cheese, green beans and fried apples.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white shirt and navy capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .I’ve started back to work on my Be-attitudes quilt. I’m almost done with the September block ~ “Be Smart” ~ an adorable hoot owl perched on a branch with three leaves.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to start a Thanksgiving journal, in which I can record something I am thankful for each day.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .Philippians.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get an earlier start on our school days from now on, so that we can be finished with formal studies by lunchtime.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Laura calling Edward (kitty), children talking, a few too many tantrums already this morning, kitty collar bell.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .games and crayons, laundry (always), school books, and the ceiling fans are getting a long awaited break now that the weather is cooler – they usually run all summer without stopping.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .baking on a rainy Fall day.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .many leaf projects with the kids, Ladies Bible Study, working on a Cookie Baking badge with Sarah for Keepers, quilting.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

007
Warm pumpkin bread fresh from the oven.

~~~~~~~~~~
To read more Daybook entries, please visit Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook,
and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. I’m going to be craving pumpkin bread all day now =)

Leave a Reply

