Fried Apples

025

I grew up eating fried apples every visit to my grandparent’s home. Grandmama would always cook up dishes and dishes of fresh vegetables from their garden and fried apples were always included, although I believe she bought her apples at the store ~ I don’t remember any apple trees on the property. They were my favorite part of every meal at their house.

023

So, naturally when I grew up, I wanted to learn how to make them. I don’t know the recipe Grandmama used (if she used one), but when I was first married I found a recipe for Fried Apples in the local newspaper, and I have kept it and used it ever since. I haven’t really made them very often, usually opting for the ease of opening a jar of applesauce, but sometimes I just get a craving for them, and then I pull out this recipe and head to the store for some Granny Smiths. I double this recipe, but even then, they shrink down so much that I don’t get a huge bowl. I may triple it next time. Anyway, they’re pretty simple, if you follow the directions and don’t improvise too much ~ don’t ask me how I know this!

Ingredients
4 Granny Smith apples (or any tart green apple)
3 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons brown sugar

Begin by coring the apples and cutting them into wedges (about 8 pieces to an apple) ~

026

Bring a large saute pan to medium heat (I used my electric skillet).
Add butter, then apples. Saute until apples are beginning to caramelize (about 5 minutes) ~

028

Add brown sugar and completely caramelize (do not burn), until apples have a shiny candy appearance (10 minutes) ~

029

031

Here they are ready to eat, served in Grandmama’s old vegetable dish ~ sweet and delicious!

032

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

