Poppy Seed Chicken

012

Oh my, that does look just like another one of my Chicken Stuffing recipes (or here or here), but it really isn’t – not a hint of stuffing anywhere! It does have cheese in it, of course.

I got this recipe from a friend at church (thanks Hannah!), and then realized that I had another recipe for Poppy Seed Chicken in my recipe file that called for the addition of cheese, so I combined the two recipes and came up with my own version. I doubled the recipe and the two pans ended up feeding us for two nights (yippee!!). The first night I served it over white rice, and the second over brown rice, which was even better.

Ingredients

3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 cans Cream of Chicken soup
1 cup Monterrey Jack cheese
1-2 teaspoons poppy seeds
1 stick butter
2 sleeves Ritz crackers

Start with thawed, rinsed chicken breasts –

002

Cut up chicken into small chunks –

003

Combine chicken, soup, cheese and poppy seeds in a bowl, mixing well –

006

Crush crackers (or have your helper crush crackers – my kids just love to do this!) –

004

Melt butter and mix together with the crushed crackers –

008

Place half of the cracker mixture in the bottom of a buttered 9 x 13 glass baking dish. Spread chicken mixture over the top of the crackers –

005

Top casserole with the remaining cracker mixture –

009

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked thoroughly. Serve over hot buttered rice –

013

Yummy!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Looks absolutely delicious ..
    Laila … http://lailablogs.com/

  2. We make this only no cheese, and we mix sour cream with the soup.

  3. I have to say this looks very yummy and I’m going to be giving it a try. 🙂

  4. What a wonderful way to use chicken. I will have to try that. Doylene

Leave a comment