Bread Pudding

015

This is my Mom’s recipe for Bread Pudding. We enjoyed this many an evening after dinner while I was growing up. Since then, I have made it many evenings myself. I have a tradition of baking this for the first time each year on the first cold night of Autumn. I can always be heard to say, sometime around this time of year, that “this is a bread pudding night”. We had one of these chilly nights last week, so I made my first bread pudding of the year, To be honest, not everyone in my family shares my enthusiasm for this dessert, but that just leaves more for those who do. If you like custards, you will enjoy this recipe. I really like custards ~ for the flavor as well as the simple, old-fashioned homemade classic that it is.

Bread Pudding

1 egg, beaten
1 cup sugar
2 cups milk
dash salt
1 tsp. vanilla
3 biscuits (or bread slices), torn into small pieces
Nutmeg

Mix all ingredients and pour into greased square glass baking dish. Sprinkle nutmeg on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

I doubled the recipe for my family. It tends to flatten a bit after it comes out of the oven, but serves up nicely in bowls. Enjoy it the next cool Fall evening where you live!

014

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. How do you do the bread? Do you just tear it into pieces before putting it in the mixture? We will have to try this one! I am really trying to limit my sweets with this pregnancy, but this time of year is so hard!

    Blessings,
    Cindy

  2. Yes, just tear it into pieces. If you’re using bread slices, keep the crusts on, as well. Thanks for pointing that out to me – I’ll edit the recipe!

  3. Now I’m craving bread pudding!! Did you know that my mom, your grandmama, made this pudding for me and the rest of the family when I was growing up? She may have been served the same bread pudding by her mom. I’m not sure. The nutmeg gives it a distinct flavor that I love.

    Mom

  4. Wow – that just makes me love it even more. I love those heirloom recipes! Thanks, Mom!

  5. Nancy,

    Does it matter if I use wheat bread or should I get some white bread and use that?

    Sorry for so many questions!
    Cindy

  6. I have only made it with white bread and biscuits. It would probably work fine with wheat, although I think you would taste the wheat flavor somewhat in the pudding, which might be okay – I’ve just never tried it.

    I don’t mind the questions at all! Let me know how it turns out.
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

