Brrrr. . . it’s cold in here!

014

I am writing this blog post as I sit at the ice rink freezing. Tommy and Sarah begin lessons today, and they have a couple of hours of free skate before their lesson starts.

016

This is our first time at this ice rink. We normally skate at the mall, however this rink just opened up ~ brand new ~ and it is much closer to home, so we opted to do lessons here. The rinks are really comparable – floor made of ice, and me sitting outside the plastic walls watching. Big difference, however, in the air temperature between here and the mall. I normally am perfectly comfortable in a jacket, but here – I think I’d feel better in a heavy winter coat! I tried sewing for awhile, but my fingers were getting numb, so I stopped.

017

I’ve got a crockpot filled with nice hot soup waiting for us at home, when we are done. I’m trying an experiment – I poured chicken broth into my crockpot, added some chopped carrots and celery, a few spices, and left it to simmer. When we get home, I will toss in a bag of tortellini from the freezer (minus the bag, of course) and let them cook until tender. Then we will try out my experiment and see how it is. I’ll let you know how it turns out. I think I’ll put in some cornbread while the tortellini cooks. I may need to break out the hot chocolate to thaw myself out sufficiently.

018

Until later ~

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. I have chicken broth I made Monday that I need to make potato soup out of in the morning. It’s not very rich because it was made from boneless skinless chicken that I made earlier. It’s good for potato soup though. I have never been near enough to an ice skating rink to go. Here in AR we always roller skated. Your children must love it. Have a great week. Doylene

  2. I do love it!!! I can’t wait until our next lesson! 🙂

Leave a Reply

