What happens when I open a window for the first time in months . . .

During our warm spell last week, we were treated to lovely springlike weather for a little bit, so I opened my bedroom window to let some fresh air in. The above picture is the scene I saw when I looked up a few minutes later. The cats had all smelled the outdoor air wafting through the open window and had congregated next to the window awaiting a chance to sit and breathe it in. As none of the kitties really are best friends – merely tolerating each other – they won’t allow another kitty to share the windowsill with them, so the first one to arrive got the seat (namely Missy), leaving the others sitting by to hope for a turn sometime soon.

The next hour found all of the kitties playing musical windowsills with a new one hopping up into the window everytime one of the others hopped down. It got quite comical watching them!

After Missy got down, Edward was next to claim the spot –

A few minutes later, I looked up and saw this – Macey had claimed her turn –

Macey jumped down for some reason, and guess who took over –

I looked up a few minutes later and . . .

This went on for quite some time between the two of them. Missy, being an old lady, knew that she wasn’t quick enough to keep fighting for a spot, and went back to her chair for a nap. The other two kept us laughing for awhile longer.

But then, who can blame them? I was certainly enjoying having the window open myself, and was perched on my bed next to the window for as long as the children would let me!

We may have to wait awhile for another round of musical kitties – they’ve forecasted rain and snow for the next 48 hours. Oh, well.

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

