Chicken and Dumplings

Well, I finally did it. I finally made Chicken and Dumplings, which I have been talking about wanting to do for a least a year now. We had lunch at a friend’s home awhile back, where we were served the most delicious Chicken and Dumplings – exactly the way I would want them to taste. So, of course, I asked my friend for the recipe. Once I had it in hand (or umm…computer), it still took me a bit to get around to making it – I tend to be scared of trying new recipes – well, not really scared – just hesitant, due to the learning curve. Not that I don’t try new recipes – obviously I do, or I would still be heating up microdinners – but, I have to really be in the mood on just the right night. So . . . long story short – I was finally in the mood on just the right night, and I had the ingredients ready at hand, so I dove in.

It turned out to be quite simple, and now that I’ve made them, I will certainly be making them again – in fact, I plan on cooking another batch this Monday, barring unforeseen circumstances. So, here is my friend’s recipe (thanks Tammy!) and a few pictures along the way ~

Chicken and Dumplings

1 whole chicken
Salt

Place whole chicken and a little salt in a crock pot. Fill crock pot half full of water. If the chicken is frozen, cook on low overnight or on high for about 6 hours. If the chicken is not frozen, cook on low about 6 hours or high about 3 hours until the meat is tender and the juices run clear. Remove the chicken from the crock pot and let cool. Remove the meat from the bones. Set aside until the dumplings are done. While you are making the dumplings, place the broth from the chicken in a stew pot and bring to a boil.

To make the dumplings:

4 cups flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 tablespoon salt
1/2 cup oil
1 1/2 cups milk

Blend all the dumpling ingredients well. Turn out onto a floured surface and roll the dough in the flour. Make sure that there is plenty of flour still under the dough or it will stick to the counter top or surface of the mat you are working on. Roll the dough out with a rolling pin until it is about 1/2 inch thick. Cut it with a knife into 1 inch squares –

Place the dumplings one at a time, into the boiling broth (you may need to add some water – keep the broth/water mixture in a large stew pot at a level that’s more than half way full but not 3/4 full). Let them cook uncovered at a boil for 10 minutes stirring often. Reduce the heat to medium low and cover the dumplings. Let them cook 10 more minutes. They will need to be stirred often to keep them from sticking to the bottom. Once the dumplings are done, add the boned chicken to the dumplings and broth. Add salt and pepper to taste. This recipe is actually thicker and yummier the day after it is made.

I made these on one of the days before Christmas when it was snowing, and it was a perfect snowy day dinner. It made so much that several of us ate it for lunch all throughout the week. It was yummy down to the last drop in the pot!

Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Looks great. I make these for our Sunday dinners. I would be honored if you visited my blog which has a lot of recipes. These also freeze well after cooked. It is really hard to make a small batch of dumplings. I feel warmed up just by looking at them.

    Lee

Leave a Reply

