Thankful Thursday ~ February 4

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:16-18

I am so happy to be back participating in Thankful Thursday again. I have been feeling the need lately to get my focus back on gratitude and to see the beauty and gift in everything around me, as God intends for me to do, rather than always focusing on what is less than perfect and seeing only the negative in each situation. Isn’t it silly the way we want to wallow in the mud, when God tells us he wants us to soar in the sky? He tells us to dwell on what is noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and praiseworthy (Philippians 4:8) and to set our minds on things above (Colossians 3:2).

Why is that so hard to do? I certainly want to live there, but, most of the time, I don’t. I’m sure that it is a result of my fallen nature, but I think that it is also a result of habit. The first problem has already been overcome by Christ’s redeeming work on the cross, and the subsequent dwelling of the Holy Spirit in my life – “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Cor. 5:17).

The second is something that will require some effort on my part to break. “You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” (Ephesians 4:22-24) This daily, hourly, minute-by-minute putting off and putting on is where the rubber meets the road. Each time I habitually start to think in my old patterns I have to choose to think the way God wants me to think about that situation. This is hard work, and I can honestly say that I am just at the point of realizing that this is what I need to do – I haven’t really spent enough time actually putting it into practice. But I am thankful that the Lord is moving me forward at His pace, and I am trusting Him to keep growing me in this area.

All that to say, that I am thankful to be back writing Thankful posts each Thursday as it will help encourage me (and hopefully you, too!) to walk in gratitude more consistently. I hope that we will both be blessed by it and I look forward to sharing my thankful thoughts with you.

To read more thankful thoughts, please visit Iris at Grace Alone .

I’ll be back with you later on ~

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Welcome back sweetie.

  2. looking forward to more thankful Thursday with you too!

    sometime I too forgot to focus on things that are noble…but thank God for always always reminding me like what He did today by reading your blog 🙂

  3. […] becky aka theRAV38. Erica39. Michele40. Wendy @ Faith’s Firm Foundation41. Nancy @ Homemade Blessings42. By Grace Alone43. June44. skoots1mom(heavy-duty & wisps)45. Heather @ A Day In My Life46. […]

Leave a Reply

