Thankful Thursday ~ February 11

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:16-18

With Valentine’s coming up soon, I thought I would focus on the love of God for my Thankful Thursday this week. I couldn’t begin to put down all of the things I am thankful for in reference to God’s love. I’m sure that I don’t even come close to grasping the depth of His love and all that that means for me, but I will share a few of the thoughts that I had as I pondered for a bit the love of God. . .

~ I am thankful that God’s love for me is not based on my performance or actions. This one challenges me alot, as I tend to think that what I do or don’t do affects His thoughts toward me. But the Bible tells me that this is not so, and I know that to be true, so I am truly thankful that He loves me regardless of my many failures, flaws, and frailties.

~ I am thankful that God’s love for me is unchanging. He doesn’t love me one day and not the next, by some whim of His. His love for me is constant, unwavering, and faithful.

~ I am thankful that God’s love is sacrificial. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16) He paid the ultimate price to redeem me for Himself and I cannot even begin to understand that kind of love, but I am certainly thankful for it.

~ I am thankful that God’s love is eternal. He loved me before the foundation of the world. He will love me forever and ever into eternity. He loves me right now – today, in whatever struggles I’m facing and in whatever circumstances He has placed me.

Thanks for stopping by! To read more thankful thoughts, please visit Iris at Grace Alone.

Have a thankful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. i too am thankful for his love, and was blessed as you listed the specifics as to how incredible his love is. It is comforting!

  2. I love this post.

  3. […] Heather @ Young, Sweet Life29. Denise30. Erica31. Susan@Daily Coping Skills32. Kimberly33. Nancy @ Homemade Blessings34. Heather @ A Day In My Life35. annies home – 36. Carol Gomer37. Jen S.38. Linda @ Seasons […]

Leave a Reply

