The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ March 1st

Happy March! The beginning of March to me means the beginning of spring, so I am celebrating! Thank you for stopping by to visit ~ here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .rainy and chilly, but with the promise of beautiful weather the rest of the week. There are muddy shoes to be cleaned all over the front porch, as the children spent some time outside yesterday in the front yard.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that it’s getting to be time to spruce up the gardens for spring planting.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .learning about turtles and perseverance this week with the youngers, Tommy is reading Johnny Tremain for history, and Sarah will be reading about George Washington. Science studies on space rocks and the usual reading, writing, and math.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Gods’s perfect love and acceptance of me.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Chicken Stuffing Casserole, green beans and applesauce. . . and the beginning of March just calls for a lemon cake for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .red shirt and blue jeans, with my white sweater.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .working on the borders of my quilt, which is going nicely. I picked up the first block kit of a new quilt at the quilt shop this weekend and I’m so eager to begin working on it that I will be prewashing the fabric today to get it ready to start cutting – it’s a Star Medallion quilt all made from Civil War reproduction fabrics – so excited!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be glad to see the sun shine this week – enough of the cloudy gray skies!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon, and “The Excellent Wife” for bible study.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get by the garden center to pick up some onion sets this week – I need to get them in the ground as soon as I can.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .school is finished for the day, I have a new weekly cleaning schedule to start today, laundry and dishes await my attention.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .quilts made from Civil War reproduction fabrics – I just love the colors and traditional patterns.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .sewing, cleaning, ice skating, and celebrating Tommy’s 13th birthday!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .

~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy starting Tuesday to find the list of Daybookers participating in this week’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Beautiful Fabrics. I would love to see the picture of the quilt. I bought a Civil War Era Quilt book about 7 years ago at a Re-inactment. I love to read the history of things!

Leave a Reply

