The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ April 12

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .another beautiful spring day with sun and a high in the 70’s. There are many birds enjoying the day, including our yearly barn swallows who are nesting in the top corners of our back patio.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that I really could use a 48 hour day – maybe then I could get everything done that I have in mind to do.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .our usual studies – reading, copywork, math, grammar, science and history readings, character study, Bible, nature studies, missionary study, and art.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the box of 200 flower bulbs that arrived in the mail this past week from the Netherlands – an Easter gift from Jeff.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Chicken Pot Pies for dinner tonight with applesauce on the side.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .pink knit shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .quilting . . . quilting . . . quilting.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to try to take the kids to the library this week – they’ve been begging to go – we’ll probably come home with stacks and stacks of books!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .a new fiction novel – “Leaving Riverton” by Jodi Barrows – a quilting novel set in the pre-Civil War era.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that the azalea bushes that we are planting this week will thrive and reward us with lovely spring flowers for many years to come. Azaleas are special to me because my grandparents had them planted all around their yard in North Carolina and springtime is so beautiful there.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .birds singing, children talking, traffic on the nearby highway.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a number of messy piles to clean up, Easter baskets about down to their jelly beans that will be harvested and packed back up in the attic this week, a cat wearing a t-shirt (don’t ask), and lots of flowers to plant outside.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .a freshly planted garden – such a joy.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .a little spring-cleaning, sewing, schoolwork, gardening, ice skating lessons, a day in the repair shop for the van, monthly Stamp Club, and a stop by the quilt store.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Tomatoes about to be put out in the garden.

~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy starting Tuesday to find the list of participants in this week’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Lovely picture…thanks for sharing! Your daybook was fun to read. I would like to learn to quilt, but I’m not sure I am talented enough…ha ha ha! I’m happy if I can repair a torn pair of jeans : ) Enjoy those azaleas
    Blessings,
    ~K~

  2. Hi Nancy! Do you think we will see each other again sometime? I would like to try to do that this summer if you want to. Just let me know…I am working on making Emma’s prom dress right now, and I bought a beautiful linen cross stitch to work on while I was in London. Can’t wait to get started! I would love to see your quilting progress!
    Love,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

