The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ April 26

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .sunshine and blue skies – another beautiful day – guess I won’t get much done indoors again today! The lawn is freshly mowed, and there are three new azalea bushes planted in the beds, as well as some pretty purple Verbena. I refilled the bird feeders yesterday to the delight of my feathered friends.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about school plans for next year.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .we are winding down now with just a few weeks left to go of formal school. I have downloaded some fun lapbooks on “My Favorite Insect” for Michael and Anna to work on sometime soon – they choose their favorite bug and study all about it and record their findings in their lapbooks.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .my home.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Ground Beef Stroganoff, Tossed Salad, and Chocolate Cake for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white t-shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a new flower garden with the bulbs Jeff gave me at Easter.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be trying to practice my hand quilting 30 minutes each day until I master it. I took a class last week to learn how to hand quilt (not piecing, but quilting the layers together) and it has proven to be quite a challenge. I have been assured that much practice is all I need to get it down, so I’m taking it on faith and will plow through my frustration with that in mind.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Liz’s Mercantile” by Jodi Barows – the second in her pioneer, quilting novel series – I really enjoyed the first book, so when I finished it this weekend, I jumped right into the second.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get more blogging done this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Blue’s Clues dvd, kitty collar bells, Jack barking outside, and children chatting.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a big pile of video tapes out in the living room left by David as he searched for the one he wanted, laundry fairly well under control (for now), dishes to do in the kitchen.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .the joy of reading God’s Word.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .planting bulbs and the last two azalea bushes, quilting, monthly Keepers Club meeting, ice skating, a quick run to the library to pick up some items on hold, and a Spring tea at church for all of the girls.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


A beautiful iris.

~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy starting Tuesday to find the list of participants in this week’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. Your Iris is beautiful! Oh what I would give to have my yard to plant a garden….soon *sigh*. Enjoy!!

  2. Oh, what a nice breath of fresh air! I so enjoyed reading your Daybook today! We are winding down our school year as well. Only twenty more lessons~YIPPEE!

    I hope your week goes smoothly. It sounds busy! 🙂

    The iris is absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

