The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ May 10

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .a cloudy and breezy morning. The patio garden is coming along nicely – I need to get it weeded and thinned this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about all of the things I want to get done today.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .just a little bit of reading to do, which we will fit in as we go about the days – we are basically done with formal schooling for the year – the learning continues in informal ways. Tommy is teaching himself French, Sarah is writing a mystery novel, Laura is researching rabbit raising and breeding – she is wanting to start a new business, Matthew fiinishes his first semester of college this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .a wonderful weekend filled with family, fun, and lots of love.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Cheeseburgers cooked out on the grill, fresh corn on the cob, and baked beans.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white polo shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .a summer calendar of events for our family – not filling it up, but just planning ahead for some special moments amid the welcome slower pace of the season.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to enjoy some fun shopping thanks to my family, who blessed me with giftcards to some of my favorite shops yesterday for Mother’s Day.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“What the Bible Says About Healthy Living” by Rex Russell, and perusing the books that I purchased at the Homeschool bookfair this past weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get this day started soon and put things back in order after a busy weekend.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .children chatting, crows cawing outside, as well as the wind blowing around the house.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .beautiful flowers given to me by Matthew for Mother’s Day, a new Bosch mixer in the kitchen ready to start working for our family, a 50 lb. bag of wheat on the table waiting for the new grain mill arriving later this week – did you guess? – I am going to begin making the bread for our family homemade using freshly milled wheat – can’t wait to taste it and to see the health benefits in our lives.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .getting my kitchen all cleaned up, spic and span.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .shopping, ice skating, cleaning out the laundry room, sewing, reading, and a trip to the zoo.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Banana Nut bread ~ fresh out of the oven. I will post the recipe later this week.

~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy starting Tuesday to find the list of participants in this week’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. We have been making bread for years and we love it. Let me know if you need a recipe. Did you get a Nutrimill?

    Cindy

  2. That banana nut bread looks yummy.

  3. Yes, the Nutrimill came highly recommended to us, and we got a good deal on it as part of a combination with the Bosch mixer at the bookfair.

    I would love to hear your bread recipe if you have time to e-mail it to me!

  4. Oh my, but your banana nut bread looks wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

