My dear little friend is back!

I have been so sad since my camera – my beloved blue Kodak that Jeff gave me for Christmas – stopped working one day mysteriously. It has been a couple of months now, and while Jeff was kind enough to loan me his camera for the duration, it just wasn’t the same, and I found myself just not really taking many pictures. And no pictures puts a serious dent in my blogging – as you may have already noticed.

Anyway, we were a bit slow in getting all of the information we needed to get it sent in under the warranty, but we finally did it and off it went to the camera hospital. I was nervous about sending it away, because if they couldn’t fix it they would be sending me a refurbished substitute – which I would be thankful for, but face it, I was attached to my pretty blue friend, and didn’t want to part with her.

The service company was great on the customer service end – notifying us when they received the camera and then notifying us again in less than a week when they shipped it back to us. But, their e-mail didn’t say whether they were sending my camera or a stranger.

The other day UPS delivered a small package to me which when opened revealed my dear little friend herself, all fixed up, cleaned up, and ready to be put back in service. She was even returned in her original box, that we sent her off in. Immediately I tested her out and she complied beautifully!

The only thing to do was to blog about it and in the course of coming up with the title of this post I happened upon the perfect name for my camera (which I had been searching for “in my spare time” ever since I received it). So, my little blue Kodak has now been dubbed “Dlf” or “Dear little friend” to borrow from Narnia’s C. S. Lewis ~

“Look here,” said Edmund, “need we go by the same way that Our Dear Little Friend came?”
“No more of that, your Majesty, if you love me,” said the Dwarf.
“Very well,” said Edmund. “May I say our DLF?”
“Oh, Edmund,” said Susan. “Don’t keep on at him like that.”
“That’s all right, lass – I mean your Majesty,” said Trumpkin with a chuckle. “A jibe won’t raise a blister.” (And after that they often called him the DLF till they’d almost forgotten what it meant.)

Oh, such excitement over such a silly little thing!

Blessings,
Nancy

Leave a Reply

