The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ June 14

Happy Flag Day! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .sunshine and clouds – a chance of showers this afternoon. The mama barn swallow is sitting on the nest again.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that I need to check on the progress of the nest on the front porch – it’s been too hot to sit out there, so I don’t know whether the eggs have hatched yet.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .summer vacation!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Jeff weeding my patio garden yesterday – it looks so much better.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Barbecue Chicken, corn, green beans, and homemade Blackberry Cobbler for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white t-shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .finishing up the dark checkerboard blocks for the Star Medallion quilt, working on block #4 for the Thangles quilt, and getting Sarah started on a Scrappy Squares quilt that she is making.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to run by the quilt store sometime this week and see the new retro kitchen fabrics that just came in.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Easy Homeschooling Companion” by Lorraine Curry.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to get more blogging done – the summer vacation state of mind seems to have affected my blogging lately.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna humming, children talking, someone running up the stairs, and the air conditioner running.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .a few children with the sniffles, the littles’ room is freshly cleaned up (for now!), Jeff has the new ceiling fan in our bedroom up and running and has repaired the blown circuit of outlets in the kitchen (half of the kitchen!), blackberries are coming in full force and we will be picking a basket for our first cobbler tonight.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .“Blueberry Scone” Yankee jar candle on my kitchen island for the summer.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .sewing, decluttering, swimming, ice skating, Ladies Bible Study, Stamp Club meeting.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


David taking a break from the pool.

~~~~~~~~~~
Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy to find the June Daybook participants, and have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. How wonderful that you have enough blackberries now to make a cobbler. Sounds delicous.

  2. I will be over for the cobbler! Yum! Love your fence!

    Have a blessed week!

    Jill
    http://tonsofsons.wordpress.com/

  3. How lovely it must be to have birds nesting on your porch. I hope they make it safely to hatching time. Thanks for sharing your daybook. Hope you have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

