Harvesting Blackberries!

Our blackberry bushes are producing enough blackberries this year to be worth it all! This is our fourth year of investment – the first year, everything died – the second year they survived, but produced nothing (expected) – the third year (last year) they gave us a handful of berries (also expected) – this year they have finally started really producing.

We have been out several times “pickin’ berries” this month ~ the kids love to pick berries and it goes much faster with their help.

Most of the berries we pick end up in the refrigerator to be eaten at whim, but I also made a blackberry cobbler one night with our fresh picked berries. I used my grandmother’s recipe, which I will share with you in another post. Next year I hope to have enough berries to eat, cook with, and freeze for the winter. I’m hoping to make some blackberry preserves, too – this year or next.

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. So glad you have a bountiful harvest this year!

  2. Beautiful blackberries! This is a great year for them. We have many vines in our 10 acres of woods, but this time of year I am always so busy with the children’s 4-H projects and singing commitments that those berries usually go to waste. This year I’ve purposed that we will harvest them no matter what! Your post reminded me of this pledge. I think I’ll go berry picking today!

  3. OMGoodness! I just saw this post!

    Yummmmmmmie! My mouth is watering right now!

Leave a Reply

