Thankful Thursday ~ July 8th

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:16-18

My Dad went to be with the Lord last year at this time, and my thoughts have been very much of him in recent days. I am devoting my thankful list this week to my Dad, who will forever be a part of me and will live in my heart and thoughts until we are reunited in heaven.

~ I am thankful for Dad’s comforting arms throughout my life – from the time I was born up until the day he passed away – being held by him always made me feel protected, safe, and loved – it is a memory I will treasure always.

~ I am thankful for the way Dad cared for and provided for his family – working hard his whole life to care for his wife and four children.

~ I am thankful that Dad grew his family up involved in the church, and was an example of service and leadership to us.

~ I am thankful for Dad’s listening ear – the way he lovingly discussed our troubles with us.

~ Along with that, I am thankful for Dad’s wisdom and guidance in my life and that he was always willing to help out when asked.

~ I am thankful that Dad taught me to be organized – maybe more caught than taught – he was a master organizer, which I always admired.

~ I am thankful for Dad’s sense of humor – I always loved it when he laughed and my memories of those special times are especially dear.

~ I am thankful for Dad’s faith in the Lord, especially in his later years. It was a joy to me to share that faith with him, and a true comfort in his passing – to know that he is with the Lord and is experiencing all of the joys of heaven.

I heard something on a radio program yesterday that really touched my heart. The speaker said that the people in our lives that we love – our spouse, children, parents, siblings, friends, relatives – are gifts from God to us for a time. They are His and we are blessed to share our lives with them. Their passing away is only a temporary separation. The reality is that we will be with them again for all eternity, if they (and we) have placed our trust in Christ for salvation from our sins. I hope that this will bless your heart the way it blessed mine!

Thankful Thursday is being hosted this month by Lynn at Spiritually Unequal Marriage. Please visit Lynn to find the list of participants in this week’s Thankful Thursday.

Have a wonderful day!

Blessings,
Nancy

5 Responses

  1. Nancy,

    I really enjoyed your tribute to your father. It was very heart warming. My story ended a bit different but struggled the same time last year with my father. He was diagnosed with stage 4 prostrate cancer that spread down his leg into the bones. By the Lord’s grace along with radiation he pulled through. Your blog is a wonderful reminder to not take our loved ones for granted.

  2. Thank you, Susan ~

    I’m so glad that you have more time to spend with your father!

  3. Such a beautiful tribute to your dad, bless your heart.

  4. I really love that about our faith — that someday we are going to be together with our loved ones once again, in the presence and in the arms of our loving God and Savior! How blessed you have been in having a dad like that.

  5. Dad’s wisdom will always resonate the most for me. He always knew what to say and when to say it when you needed it most, so it would help the most. I miss him. Can’t wait to see him again!

    M

Leave a Reply

