Blackberry Cobbler

This recipe is near and dear to my heart, as it is famous in our family. It is my Grandmama’a berry cobbler recipe – which brings back memories from my childhood of summer vacations spent at Grandmama and Grandaddy’s house in North Carolina, complete with cousins, roll-a-bat, and always – without exception – berry cobbler.

On one of those summer vacations, when I was probably about 12 years old, I asked my grandmother to tell me how she made the cobbler – she explained as she went and I wrote it down. Here is the original recipe that I wrote down that day all those years ago –

No, I’m not going to make you try to read that little piece of paper! I recently pulled out the old recipe and made a blackberry cobbler for my family using berries from our yard. I didn’t stay completely true to the recipe, however, as I used a refrigerated pie crust to save time. Here is Grandmama’s recipe as I originally received it, plus a few added notations. Keep in mind that Grandmama always made this without a recipe – knowing just how much of this and that to add by sight. I asked her to try to give me measurements, so they are here when needed.

~ Dough – Mix 2 cups flour, 1 tsp. baking powder, dash salt together in a bowl. Add a little (1/4 cup?) Crisco and cut into dry ingredients. Add milk until it is pastry consistency. I just pulled out my handy dandy pie crust from the refrigerator, but will definitely be trying the scratch version another time. Divide dough in half.

~ Grease 9 x 13 casserole dish or spray with cooking spray. I used (and always will use) Grandmama’s cobbler dish to make my cobbler.

~ Mash berries slightly.

~ Put half of the berries in the bottom of the casserole dish.

~ Add 1/2 – 1 cup of sugar all over top of berries. Add spats of butter on top.

~ Roll out one half of dough on flour (or lay out one of the refrigerated pie crusts). Cut strips about 1 inch wide.

~ Criss-cross strips over berries.

~ Make another layer of berries, sugar, butter and strips. Sprinkle some sugar over the top of the cobbler and add some more butter spats on top.

~ Bake uncovered at 450 degrees for 15 minutes. Turn oven down to 400 degrees and bake another 30-45 minutes.

~ While you’re waiting, let your kitchen helper lick the berry bowl!

~ Remove from oven when golden.

~ Serve with ice cream. I always make a point to use Grandmama’s cobbler bowls – brings back good memories.

The refrigerated crust seemed to cook up thinner than the way I remember Grandmama’s. It was good to use in a pinch, but I will probably try to make it from scratch next time. Enjoy!

This makes me want to get up a game of roll-a-bat – maybe when it’s a bit cooler outside!

Blessings,
Nancy

6 Responses

  1. Oh My! Brings back a lot of memories for me too with that baking dish and the bowls. What wonderful times we had with all the family there. The cobbler looks great, just like Grandmama’s. I’m sure it was delicious. Let me know when you want to get up a game of roller bat.

    Mom

  2. Oh, I know what we’re going to do with our blackberries now…and those cobbler bowls are so beautiful (as is your kitchen helper).

  3. Hello! You say to put half of the blackberries (but never say how many cups total to use) in and then never say what to do with the other half…

  4. haha how many cups needed and what do you do with the other half?!
    Did you mean fill the dish half full??

  5. Hi Megan!

    You’re right! I never did say how many berries to use. I didn’t really measure them out myself – just had a bowl full of blackberries I had picked. I’m guessing that I probably started out with about 6-8 cups of berries.

    There are two layers of berries in the cobbler. You put half of those (or 3-4 cups) in the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle with sugar, dot with butter and criss-cross strips of dough on top. Then, you make a second layer the same way – berries (3-4 cups), sugar, butter, and a second layer of criss-cross strips. Sprinkle some more sugar, add a few more butter pats and then you’re ready to bake.

    I’m sorry about the confusion! Thank you for pointing it out! I hope your cobbler turns out as yummy as my Grandmama’s!

    Blessings,
    Nancy

  6. I have been hunting blackberry cobblers on the net and none have compared to my memory of what my granny’scobbler looked like. Most looked like what we call a dump dish… dump in this, dump in that, mix and bake. Yours look just like hers did. I am headed to the store now to get pie dough to make this for fathers day. Thank you so much for hanging to to your granny’s recipe. I ahve a few of my own I wrote down when I was a girl too. I am now 44 and glad I did. 🙂
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

