The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ August 23

Good Morning! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .the trees are looking tired – the first hint that Fall is soon to follow.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that I better start planning the Labor Day Cup – it will be here sooner than I expect!
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .about ready for the new year – need to order a few books, buy a few school supplies, and tie up a few loose ends.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the abundance of blessings that God has provided for me.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Tater Tot Casserole, applesauce, and tossed salad for dinner tonight – maybe a chocolate cake for dessert if I have time.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .white t-shirt and capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .I will be sewing block #5 of my blue and white “Thangles” quilt this week and picking up block #6 at the quilt store.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to be so glad to see the cooler autumn days arrive, so that we can be outside again.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“The One Year Christian History” – a wonderful collection of true stories from ancient to current day arranged by the dates that the events actually occurred – inspiring and moving.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .to have more time at home this week than last.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Sarah in the kitchen fixing her breakfast, David playing in the living room, the a/c running – the rest of the children are still asleep, so it is rather quiet and peaceful.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .lots of blueberries to eat, bake with, and freeze for later (Jeff got them for a great price last week at Sprouts) – I’m going to bake some Blueberry Banana bread tomorrow to start with.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .the “Little House on the Prairie” Disney version movie (even though they completely changed history by leaving out Baby Carrie!).
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning out, sewing, ice skating, monthly Keepers Club meeting, school planning, shopping for ballet slippers for Anna, and celebrating my Mom’s birthday with the family.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Delicious homemade strawberry preserves from my Mom’s recipe.

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy to find the August list of participants in The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,
Nancy

2 Responses

  1. You made the preserves!! It looks wonderful, and I know it will taste even better than it looks. It’s a hot job, sterilizing the jars, etc., but it’s worth it.

  2. Oh YUM! Your jam looks wonderful! I put up a bunch of peaches that my mom brought back from Apple Hill (over in the Sierras between Reno & Sacramento)…canned peaches and peach jam!

    Please show us your quilt!!!

Leave a Reply

