Chicken Tetrazzini

This is a delicious, warm, comfort casserole for those chilly winter nights. I make this year round, but it is especially good at this time of year. I have been making Chicken Tetrazzini for my entire married life, but a few years back my brother-in-law and sister-in-law brought this to us for dinner (I think after David was born) and it was so creamy and wonderful I asked them for the recipe. It turns out that the recipe came from Southern Living magazine, and it is the recipe that I have used for Chicken Tetrazzini ever since. It is simple, easy and did I mention delicious?

Chicken Tetrazzini

1 (16 oz.) package vermicelli (I just use regular spaghetti)
1/2 cup chicken broth
4 cups chopped cooked chicken breasts
1 (10 3/4 oz.) can cream of mushroom soup
1 (10 3/4 oz.) can cream of chicken soup
1 (10 3/4 oz.) can cream of celery soup
1 (8 oz.) container sour cream
1 (6 oz.) jar sliced mushrooms, drained (I leave these out)
1/2 cup (2 oz.) shredded Parmesan cheese (I think I usually use a bit more) – this is not the grated cheese in the jar, but the shredded found in bags in the cheese section of the grocery store.
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
2 cups (8 oz.) shredded Cheddar cheese

– Cook vermicelli according to package directions; drain. Return to pot and toss with chicken broth.

– Stir together chicken and next 8 ingredients, add vermicelli, and toss well. Spoon mixture into 2 lightly greased 11 x 7 inch baking dishes (I use one 13 x 9 dish). Sprinkle evenly with cheddar cheese.

– Bake, covered, at 350 degrees for 30 minutes; uncover and bake 5 more minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Makes 12 servings.

This casserole is great with a tossed salad, rolls and something chocolatey for dessert. Enjoy!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Looks super tasty! 🙂

  2. I came to visit because of your Daybook but stayed and looked at your other posts. This looks delicious… but terrible for my diet and exercise. If we make it and love it it will have to be limited to only a couple times a year and definitely with a salad to offset the calories… thanks for the recipe. I plan to try it in a week or so.

  3. Hope you like it, Debbie!

  4. Having it for dinner 2night. Hahahaha!!

Leave a Reply

