“Soul Surfer”


Photo courtesy of Corbis

Jeff and I went to see the movie “Soul Surfer” last night and it was wonderful! It is based on the true story of Bethany Hamilton and her family as they deal with the aftermath of a shark attack that leaves Bethany with the loss of one arm. It was so encouraging to me to see how their faith sustained them in a very real way during this tragedy in their lives.

There were many, many wonderful messages throughout the movie – a few of the encouraging truths that I came away with were –

    ~ Sometimes we’re too close to a situation to see or think clearly. We need to step back and get a new perspective.

    ~ When you get knocked down or are going under, you have to get back up and keep going.

    ~ God can take a small act of ours and grow it to be something big for his glory.

    ~ And of course, the always needed reminder that “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)

If you have the chance to go see this movie, I would strongly encourage you to do so. I am going to take my older kids (12 and up) to see it. Although handled very carefully, there is some blood involved in the accident scenes and I think that would be too much for my younger children. We may let Michael (9) see it when it comes out on DVD on the small screen.

Oh, and by the way, we saw the trailer for the new Kendrick (Fireproof, Facing the Giants, etc.) movie coming out in the Fall. It is called “Courageous” and deals with fathers and their relationship with their children. It looked amazing – can’t wait for that one!

Have a nice evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. Nancy,

    I was surprised to read your post about Soul Surfer. I have heard nothing but bad reviews on this movie. I thought I would leave you with a link to another blog of a homeschooling mom and speaker to see what you think of her review.

    http://yoursacredcalling.com/blog/2011/04/soul-surfer-beaches-bikinis-and%E2%80%A6bibles/

    Blessings,
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

