The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ August 23

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .105 degrees today – about like its been for the last month and 1/2. My garden is all parched and dried up. I am soooo ready for cooler weather.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .about clutter. . . how much I don’t like it.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .squeezing the last bit out of summer before we start formal lessons ~ on the calendar for soon after Labor Day.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .the deep, deep love of God as He is always caring for me, providing for me, and growing me.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .Hot Chicken Salad Casserole, applesauce and tossed salad for dinner tonight.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .yellow t-shirt and denim capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .more visual peace for myself as we work on cleaning out several “overgrown” clutter areas this week.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .for a swim after dinner – it’s been way to hot to swim in the afternoons, so we’ve been going out and enjoying wonderful evening swims most nights, staying out until it gets dark and the stars come out.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .“Homeschool SuperMom…Not!” (subtitle: When Grace Meets Homeschooling) by Susan Kemmerer. I just received this in the mail and have read only the first two chapters, but can tell that this is going to be one of my favorites. It is hitting me right where I am and is full of practical advice as well as wonderful Biblical truth.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .need I say it again? . . . I am hoping that Fall will arrive very soon!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .the shower running upstairs, a dog eating her dinner, air conditioner running, and – oh yes! the beeper on the oven calling me to come take our dinner out of the oven.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .laundry being worked through, two giant stacks of library books, several cleaning out projects underway, and a family waiting patiently for dinner.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .my new quilt block charm bracelet, with only July and August charms so far, but which will have a different charm for each month by next year at this time. (No, I’m not sewing them!! They are jewelry quilt blocks!)
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .cleaning out, swimming, sewing (if I can get to it!), and a birthday celebration for my dear Mom!
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Macey enjoying an afternoon snooze

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy to find the August list of participants in The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a wonderful evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

One Response

  1. How cute Macey is sleeping!
    I’m looking forward to cool days, too.

Leave a Reply

