Feeding the Birds

It has been too long since I filled up my birdfeeders for my feathered friends, and so I did so yesterday. I don’t usually worry about it too much in the spring and summer months, because there are plenty of bugs around to keep the birds satisfied. But when it starts to get cooler, and the bugs (well most of them) go away to wherever it is they go in the winter, I usually like to keep my feeders filled up. We have had a very mild Fall and Winter so far this year, so I guess I hadn’t thought too much about it, but lately I have started to miss seeing the birds gathered around the feeders. These birdfeeders hang in the Crepe Myrtles on the side of the house outside my kitchen window – the perfect spot for me to watch them come and go. It looks like I may need to add a coat of paint to some of them – they’re starting to look a little more rustic than I’d like!

It usually takes a few days after I fill the feeders for the word to get around that they’re full, so I haven’t seen too much action yet; although I did spot some little chickadees out there a little while ago. Soon the word will be out and the chickadees will have to patiently wait for their turn while the bigger birds have their fill.

Now if I can just figure out how to keep the neighbor’s cat away from the feeders!

Have a wonderful evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. Hi Nancy! If you figure out how to keep squirrels out, let me know!

  2. You have a Crepe Myrtles tree by the kitchen window. I love this tree.

  3. Hi Kathy! Actually that feeder in the third picture is specially made to keep squirrels out – it closes up the feeder holes if something heavier than a bird sits on it! You might look for something like that. Sometimes I like seeing a squirrel on the feeder, though – their acrobatics are fun to watch. As long as they don’t eat up all of the food!

    Hope all of your family is doing well!

  4. Hi beagleAnnie ~ Yes, there are many Crepe Myrtles here in Texas – they do so well here. I love them too! They are beautiful all summer long while in bloom, and then their leaves turn to lovely colors in the autumn.

Leave a Reply

