The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ January 9, 2012

Good Evening! Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . .nighttime, cold and wet. It has been raining most of the day, although it is not raining right now.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . .that I need to do my grocery shopping over the weekend from now on – it’s too hard to try to fit it in on Mondays.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the learning room. . .started back our lessons today. David and I enjoyed reading “The Snowy Day” and Michael and Anna and I read “Katy’s Big Snow” for our Five in a Row studies. Laura is beginning a book on the Civil War, and Tommy and Sarah read about the Zhou Dynasty. All of this along with our regular reading, writing, spelling, math, Bible, and grammar lessons.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful for. . .Cookie starting to perk up again, and seeming to be on the mend. I will update you all on her in a few days.
~~~~~~~~~~
From the kitchen. . .dinner tonight was Pigs in a Blanket and chips.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .navy t-shirt, sweats, and sweater – oh, and my comfy red plaid quilt that I am tucked into on the couch – my nightly winter companion.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .not much right now, although I keep looking longingly at my sewing desk, and wishing for time to get back to my quilts.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am going. . .to need to take the rest of the Christmas decorations down soon!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .Philippians and school books.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .the rain won’t last too long and we’ll get the sunshine back.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hearing. . .Anna talking, me telling Anna to go to sleep (again), the heater running, a dog barking outdoors.
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .books, toys, shoes, Christmas storage boxes, laundry, dishes, children going to bed – ah, the beauty of ordinary days.
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .my son Matthew, who is turning 21 years old tomorrow! So proud of him and thankful for him.
~~~~~~~~~~
A few plans for the rest of the week. . .library, vet, ice skating, basketball, watching old slides from my childhood with my family, and celebrating Mattie’s birthday.
~~~~~~~~~~
Here is a picture thought I am sharing. . .


Look at that beautiful blue and white fabric on the cover of Connecting Threads’ newest catalog!

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy to find the January list of participants in The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a good night!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. I LOVE IT! I am a huge fan of the blue and white! So pretty.

    Thank you for sharing today!

  2. I haven’t made pigs in a blanket in awhile … I do love them.

    I also love blue and white fabrics!

  3. OMGosh…I love looking at that catalog too. So far I’ve resisted the urge to buy!

  4. Not sure I’m going to be able to resist that blue and white!! – my favorite combination!

Leave a Reply

