Homemade Waffles

I spent most of the day yesterday cleaning out Anna and David’s room, sorting toys and filling 5 trash bags with stuffed animals, toys, and books to give away, and 3 bags of trash and broken toys to throw away! I was glad that I had planned a simple dinner to follow all that effort!

My experience with homemade waffles actually started very recently. We traveled to Austin last December for our nephew’s wedding, and the hotel that we stayed in over the weekend served a wonderful full and free breakfast for its guests. Now I never make it downstairs for these breakfasts, partly because I sleep as late as I can, and partly because I move slowly in the mornings, taking my time showering and dressing for the day. Jeff, on the other hand, is quite the early bird, and got up and organized the troops to head down to retrieve breakfast, which they brought back to the room to eat, bringing me assorted samplings of what was available.

Tommy had discovered a waffle iron and batter all set up for cooking, and he managed to figure out how to cook them himself – impressive for a 14 year old boy with no experience. I must interject here the sad fact that I had never bought or eaten anything but frozen waffles in my entire life – not once had I experienced a homemade waffle, in any restaurant, growing up at home, or since being married. 😦 So, anyway, Tommy made one for himself, and he made one for me that morning. I was an instant convert! This waffle was huge, and fluffy, and warm, and delicious. Tommy loved his too, and announced that weekend that he was going to buy me a waffle iron for Christmas, with no complaint from me!

Christmas came around and not only did I get a nice waffle iron from my boys, but I also came home with a smaller one from the white elephant gift exchange that my family does each year (something we all look forward to, with plenty of jokes and laughing, which is worthy of a separate post sometime). Anyway, I was all equipped and ready to start churning out waffles for my family.

So the week after Christmas, I tried out my new waffle irons. I used a box mix and proceeded to learn the fine art of waffle making. It was truly a learning experience! It took me a few batches to figure out the best amount of batter to put on the iron, and how long to let them cook, but they turned out quite edible, and we enjoyed the meal.

This week I added them to the menu again for last night’s dinner, and decided to make them from scratch rather than a mix. I went online (of course!) and found a simple recipe rather quickly. The recipe I used was from Granny’s Kitchen, which I followed exactly except that I doubled it and added some vanilla, which I think adds a wonderful flavor (I use vanilla in my pancakes, too!). The recipe at the site is for pancakes and waffles, so if you’re wanting pancakes instead, you might pop over to Granny’s blog and read the original recipe. She basically used a pancake recipe, and tweaked it a bit for waffles. I am sharing only the waffle recipe here.

Anyway, these waffles turned out beautifully, and were so delicious! Everyone loved the flavor and we were all completely stuffed when we finished dinner. The recipe was very simple, using ingredients that I (and you too!) always have in my pantry. I took the above picture while I was cooking them, but forgot to take a picture of the full plate of cooked waffles! (well, my brain was a bit weary by then!) So I almost put this post off until the next time I baked waffles. When I just happened to mention that to Sarah, who was sitting nearby when I pulled out the laptop, she said “I took pictures of them.” Really??? So, I uploaded them from her camera, and now you can at least see how they turned out! Well, Sarah’s plate anyway –

Golden, buttery, sweet and delicious. I ate two of these fluffy delights and was totally stuffed for the evening. So, without further ado, the recipe ~

Homemade Waffles

1 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/4 cups milk
1 egg
4 tablespoons cooking oil
(2 tablespoons vanilla, if desired)

In a large bowl whisk together the egg, oil and milk. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients just until well moistened. (If overmixed, finished product will be tough.)

Follow manufacturer’s directions for heating your waffle iron. Spray grids with cooking spray and then fill with a little more than 1/3 cup but less than 1/2 cup of batter (experiment to see what amount works best in your waffle iron). Lift lid of waffle iron and check brownness after about 3 minutes; let waffles continue to cook until desired brownness. Yields 6 waffle squares.

Leftover waffles (we didn’t have any!) can be frozen when cool, by popping them in a freezer bag. Toast them as you would a store-bought frozen waffle…but they will taste so much better!

Have a nice day!

Blessings,
Nancy

4 Responses

  1. We love waffles so much we eat them for dinner weekly. I bought my husband a professional one for Christmas about a year ago and my 8 yr old son LOVES to make ALL the waffles…I kid you not…that this kid can make the batter from scratch (we have to due to food allergies) and make them all!

  2. Congratulations on the waffle making! Looks sooooo yummy!!
    I’ve never made waffles by myself. Every time I got from the shop.
    But now I’m thinking of buying a waffle iron…

  3. How nice Jolene! You get a night off from cooking each week, and a nice, hot meal served to you, too! It is so great that your son can do that!

  4. Oh, beagleAnnie, you should try them – so much yummier than store-bought!

Leave a Reply

