The Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ July 13, 2015

"/

Here is my Daybook entry for today ~

Outside my window. . . the early evening shadiness is creeping over the yard.  The kids are swimming in the pool while I sit and watch while writing.  Rowan (the dog) is playing frisbee with the kids in the pool – he drops it in the water and then waits for them to throw it  – he lives for this game!  It is cooling off a little from the upper 90’s of the day, and a nice gentle breeze is blowing, making it possible for me to stay out of the pool for the moment.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thinking. . . about possibilities for fun places to go while on vacation next month.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am thankful. . .for our pool and the rest and fun it provides during these hot Texas summers.
~~~~~~~~~~
In my kitchen. . .We cooked out Cheeseburgers on the grill tonight and roasted corn on the cob, served with baked beans and grilled onions for the burgers. Red, white, and blue M & M cookies for dessert.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wearing. . .light blue and white swirly peasant top with navy capris.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am creating. . .doing some hand stitching on the applique on my Farm Fresh quilt and on my red embroidery quilt. I picked up some thread this past weekend, so I can begin quilting my small summer lake quilt.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am reading. . .a cute novel I checked out from the children’s section of the library last week – I couldn’t resist it – it looked so appealing. It is called “Tumtum & Nutmeg” by David Murray. It’s an adorable little mouse tale, with sweet characters. What can I say? I love children’s books!
~~~~~~~~~~
I am hoping. . .that the new daily system that I started today with the kids will work out well. More on this later.
~~~~~~~~~~
I am wondering. . .at the beauty and intricacy of God’s amazing creation.
~~~~~~~~~~
In the homeschool room. . .summer break is in full swing. I’ve done a little thinking about next year’s plans, but my thoughts are still ruminating. Truth be told – one of my favorite activities of the summer is floating around the pool deep in thought about plans for the new school year. I do some of my best thinking that way! My kids think I’m crazy! 🙂
~~~~~~~~~~
Around the house. . .Jeff is enjoying the All-Stars Home Run Derby in the living room, dinner leftovers are still sitting out in the kitchen, Sarah is finishing off Season 5 of Downton Abby, and the kitties are enjoying the fact that the dog is outside away from them for a little while.
~~~~~~~~~~
In my garden. . .Jeff pulled the onions and they are laid out on the picnic table to dry. Green tomatoes are growing – the chickens have been helping themselves to the ones at the bottom of the bushes. Peppers are doing well. Most of the big garden ended up being a bust this year – probably due to the overabundance of spring rains that we had.
~~~~~~~~~~
A favorite quote for today. . .“My plea is ~ Let me be a woman, holy through and through, asking for nothing but what God wants to give me, receiving with both hands and with all my heart whatever that is.” – Elisabeth Elliot
~~~~~~~~~~
One of my favorite things. . .the pretty white lights on the white picket pool fence – we turn them on when we are out swimming in the evenings – such a lovely sight!
~~~~~~~~~~
A picture thought for today. . .

R

 
Pretty tablecloth I found in an antique store while shopping with my Mom and the girls.

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to Peggy at The Simple Woman’s Daybook for this wonderful meme. Visit Peggy to find the list of participants in The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

Have a wonderful evening!

Blessings,
Nancy

5 Responses

  1. Live the image of floating in the pool! So relaxing…and I love your tablecloth!
    Happy summer!

  2. Enjoyed reading your daybook. We are having rather a cool summer up here in NE Ohio. In fact it doesn’t even seem like summer! Love your table decor. Aww, another Downton Abby fan??

  3. Love the table cloth!

  4. beautiful table

  5. Thank you, ladies, for visiting!

    Shirley, we have really enjoyed Downton Abbey and are currently rewatching all of the seasons!

Leave a Reply

