Bad Cold Busted

  
It fought hard, this cold nemesis.  It had me down for the count. . .or at least for many, many days.  I fought hard, too.  I rested, drank fluids, took cold medicine, blew my nose, and coughed diligently.  After about a week, I felt I better. I thought I had done my time.  This euphoric feeling lasted one day.  LIttle did I know that my enemy had just pulled back to regroup.

I woke up on Day 8 dizzy, with an intensifying of all of my cold symptoms.  I continued my battle plan from the week before, hoping to stay ahead of it.  On Day 11, I woke up with pain in my sinuses and  decided it was time to call in the Cavalry, so I made an appointment with the doctor.  Diagnosis:  acute sinus infection, ear infection, and possible bronchitis.  My enemy had really knocked me down, but now it was time to bring on the big guns and take this cold down once and for all. 

My doctor sent me back into the battle armed with these weapons of cold warfare –

  

I was so excited to have the help and the hope of a return to good health.  The battle wasn’t quite over though.  It was another 3 days before I started feeling like I was on the road to recovery. That beast of a cold had dug in deep and didn’t want to leave easily.  It is now 19 days since the start of this lovely adventure, and while my cold symptoms are practically gone – just a slight lingering cough – I am still trying to regain my strength after the long hard fight.   

In the end, all but 2 members of the household ended up participating in the 2016 Family Cold Event, all in varying degrees, and thankfully noone but me ended up needing the big guns to defeat it.  

It wasn’t all horrible.  There were lots of hours of HGTV, lots of rest and relaxation, and, when my head wasn’t spinning, I got some work done on my Varsity quilt.  After spending the time figuring out the diamond/triangle piecing method, I was able to get all of the triangles sewn rather quickly to the diamonds, and even got a row of diamonds sewn together!

  
  
So, that’s what I’ve been busy with the past few weeks. I hope things are better at your home and that you and your’s won’t have to battle the icky cold bug this winter.  We don’t really get sick like this too much around here, so I can’t complain.  Just glad to be on the upward swing again.  And the lovely spring weather we’re having this week is a true spirit lifter!

Have a lovely day!

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

