Delicious Candied Popcorn

100_6648

A friend at church told me about this yummy snack that is so easy to make and so delicious too! We have made it twice since New Year’s and it makes a nice big bowl to feed lots of hungry mouths.

All you need to make this is –

3 bags of microwaved popcorn (or the equivalent in stovetop popcorn) –

100_6646

1/2 package of white candy coating (6 squares) – this is available on the baking aisle by the baking chocolate –

100_6645

Simply pop your popcorn and dump it in a big bowl. Then place the candy in a small microwaveable bowl –

100_6647

Microwave the candy on high for a minute, stir, then continue microwaving for 15 second intervals, stirring between each until the candy is melted and smooth. Be careful not to cook too long – it burns easily!

When it is melted, just pour it over the popcorn and stir well to mix and coat the popcorn –

100_66481

100_6649

You can eat it while it’s still wet or wait until it dries a bit – it tastes a lot like a popcorn ball, just not in a ball form.

There are some neat variations to this recipe that I haven’t tried yet, but my friend has. She made multiple bowls for her daughter’s Olympics-themed party, added different colors of food coloring to the melted candy and ended up with a variety of bowls of colored candied popcorn. You could also throw in some sprinkles while mixing it up and have a fun confetti look – I may try this next time.

I made this for New Year’s Eve and served it up in a festive basket that I received from my sister-in-law (filled with all kinds of crafty goodies) for Christmas –

100_6651

This treat would go great with your next family game night – we enjoyed an evening of Indiana Jones Monopoly recently –

100_6818

Or with a good movie – we bought the new American Girl movie “Chrissa” yesterday and enjoyed it last night – another good, wholesome family movie in the American Girl series – I have been really impressed with all of these movies.

However you choose, I hope you and your family enjoy it as much as we do!

Blessings,
Nancy

3 Responses

  1. Nancy,

    The popcorn looks great, and we love Monopoly too. We just got the Monopoly “Here and Now” version and it is fun.

    I have to respectfully disagree with you regarding the American Girl movies. We have been very disappointed with the content in their movies. The open rebellion to parents with no consequences in “Felicity”, and the disregard for the law and deceit in “Samantha”. The “Molly” movie was probably the best of all of them. (My best friend’s niece played the part of Emily), however, Molly was a little bratty. We never saw Kit, and we won’t see the new one either.

    We have to be so careful with the impressionable hearts of our little ones. I want my little girls to have good role models. American Girl has really changed over the last 10 years. We started buying from them back in the early 1990’s, but here lately they have been promoting very worldly attitudes. They were a big supporter of Planned Parenthood at one time, maybe they still are.

    I hope I wasn’t offensive; I just wanted to share my heart.

    Cindy

  2. Hi Cindy!

    Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I appreciate your concerns and certainly agree that we do have to be very careful these days in what we choose for our families. We have found these movies to be a refreshing change from so much that is negative in the world of entertainment, with a strong emphasis on family and choosing to do the right thing no matter how difficult it may be.

    Surely there are no perfect movies in an imperfect world, and there may often be something to discuss with our children in anything we watch. We seek to follow the Lord’s leading for our family in what we view , just as I know you do as well for yours.

    I was not aware of the connection with Planned Parenthood and will certainly look into this more. I appreciate your sharing this with me!

    Blessings,
    Nancy

  3. Normally, I would drop this subject, but I have to say one more thing….these movies do NOT portray “doing the right thing no matter how difficult it may be”. Look at the Felicity movie. She goes against what her parents have told her not to do and her father rewards her for it by giving her the horse. That goes against the Biblical mandate of parents to discipline their children. Samantha is the same way. She breaks the law and nothing is ever said about that. The right thing for Samantha was to let her parents help her get Jenny and her sisters out. Not go behind their back and do it anyway. I am sorry, but I have to disagree. These movies are not promoting right behavior. No submission to parents at all. There is a very slippery slope here and I would caution you as a friend.

    Check out some of the movies that were in the Christian Film Festival. Now those were some good movies that you don’t have to “talk” about later and straighten things out.

    I won’t say anymore.

Leave a comment